“The keys to success: Stay golden, and love cats.”

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetI hung out with one of my closest friends last night and had a much needed catch up session with her. It had been months since the last time I had seen her, and since then, so much has happened in both of our lives. We legitimately talked for 7 hours straight. I didn’t even know that I had that type of lung capacity to talk for as much as we did!

Most of our initial conversation consisted of catching each other up on our love lives and our crazy college stories. Both of us have grown a lot since freshman year of college. Since the two of us don’t go to the same college and therefore don’t hang out with the same people, it was nice for the both of us to tell some stories to each other that we probably wouldn’t be as comfortable telling to our college friend groups. It gave us a chance to get things off our chests.

We ended the night with reminiscing about the high school days. A little background about my friend is that she is my first close female friend that I had made my freshman year of high school. I actually knew of her before I officially met her, through one of my best guy friends that I have known since kindergarten. You see, this particular female friend had always been on my guy friend’s “Top 8” back when MySpace was cool. She was the only other female on his Top 8 besides me, so of course I noticed her! I remember seeing her in one of my classes the very first day of freshman year. I immediately texted my guy friend up to confirm that it was her. When I found out it was, I approached her with a “Hi!” and a “You are ____’s friend right?” Since that day, we have been close friends.

During our talk about high school, I got the urge to look through my old high school yearbooks which brought back a flood of memories. It was a little sad seeing some of the long paragraphs some of my friends wrote me, who I have since drifted apart from. Then again, it was still enjoyable reading their yearbook signings because it was nice to know that we shared those amazing memories at one point in our lives, even if we don’t hang out anymore. Ironically, the people I am still best friends with barely wrote me even a third of a page in my yearbook. It is as if my close friends knew we would stay close, and that writing a lengthy yearbook signing was unnecessary.

Going through my yearbooks made me realize how much I had grown up. I have definitely moved on past high school. I’m glad that I have not gotten stuck in those glory days, back when school and life were easy.

I’d like to think that I haven’t peaked. I definitely miss being that two-sport varsity captain and valedictorian that came easily in high school, but I am still proud of my accomplishments at UCLA. I feel as if going back into the past and seeing my accomplishments as a high school student has given me a new surge of energy and determination to keep growing as a person. I have gotten a little comfortable with where I am with life at UCLA, but I realize that I can do so much more. It is sometimes hard to convince myself that I am still unique and capable of accomplishing big things when I am surrounded by such talented and intelligent individuals everyday at UCLA. Reminiscing about high school is definitely bring back that fire and confidence I used to have. I know it still exists inside of me, but it just needed that little push to start up again.

Random side note: “The keys to success: Stay golden, and love cats.” That was the quote I wrote on the yearbook editors’ page. I laughed so hard when I read that last night because I had forgotten all about it. That is so me.

Leave a Reply

