Orientation Day #1

Today was the first official day of orientation, where we actually got down to the rules, regulations, and how to’s of CTY at HKU. Boy, I really hope I start to figure this campus out because honestly, it is still a maze to me even after tours and countless times walking through the campus from place to place.

We did introductions today, and it was really intimidating hearing that basically all the other TAs which whom I thought were the same age as me, were in fact way older. They were all graduated from college, pursuing masters/phds, or have full-time jobs lined up. They all seemed to have their lives figured out, while I’m still here trying to take it day by day. When it was my turn to introduce myself, all I had to say was, “Hi. My name is Elaine Poon… I’m a 3rd year undergrad at UCLA. It’s my fIrst year at CTY, and… yeah.” Lol, truly the noobiest of the noobs compared to all them graduate students and whatnot. Hopefully I’ll have some time to pick their brains a little bit.

I’m continuing to meet cool people everyday. Its fun making small talk with everyone and all, but I’m hoping that it will soon develop into actual friendships instead of just friendly chatter. I take time to warm up to people, so hopefully it will get better and better as the days go on. Then again, we only have 3 weeks together. It is such a short time! =/

Leave a Reply

