23 Days.

As I sit here procrastinating on my 3000 word paper and going through pictures from my time in Shanghai, it dawned on me how quickly the end of my study abroad was approaching. For the last few weeks, my study abroad pals and I have been counting down. We aren’t counting down in anticipation of going home, but more so for the reminder that our time here is coming to a close.

Every Monday is Salsa night at Mural, one of the local bars in Shanghai. If you know me at all, salsa is definitely not something I ever dreamed that I would try, mainly because of my terrible dancing ability. Last Monday, a few of my friends decided they wanted to go to Salsa Night. Honestly, I wasn’t considering it. It was cold, I was tired, and I was sure I’d just embarass myself in public trying to salsa. One of my friends, the one who seems to always be able to convince us to do things, says to me. “THIRTY DAYS. Will you regret going or will you regret not going?” Still on the fence, I let that thought ponder as we headed home from dinner, some of us to change for salsa, and others to go home for the night. In the end I was like, fuck it, thirty days, I’m gonna go.

At first, I was a little self-conscious because there are literally people at that bar who look like they have salsa’d all their life. Here I am, struggling to learn the most basic of steps, courtesy of one of my good friends who had taken several salsa classes in the past. Soon though, I started getting the hang of it. Kind of. Also, I just stopped caring and started to feel comfortable just having my own fun. I ended up having such a great night. Salsa is so much fucking fun!

As ridiculous as it sounds, I felt like I took such a huge step when I decided to go to salsa. I forced myself to go out of my comfort zone and try something completely out of character, and ended up having the time of my life.

23 days left. Let’s make these last few weeks count!

Leave a Reply

