Norms

 

Tonight, I had a spontaneous trip to a local diner and caught up with a friend I haven’t hung out with in awhile. He took me to a diner that his dad had introduced him to and naturally, right as we sat down, I pulled out my phone and checked Yelp to see its ratings. Immediately, I passed judgements on the diner when I saw that it only had 3 stars. When my apple pie and ice cream came though, it was absolutely delicious and I loved every bite of it.

Isn’t it interesting how influential technology is on our behaviors and perspectives? If it were not for my friend (and my friend’s dad) I would have never, in my whole life, stepped foot into that diner because of its low Yelp rating. My friend and I discussed how our millennial generation is so focused on eating the “best” the “newest” restaurants out there. I am totally guilty of that, as I am someone who basically never tries new restaurants below 4 stars. According to my friend, the older generation (or his dad’s generation) is more focused on just going to a place with their group of friends as a hang out spot, almost like a meet up place with food being secondary. I know this is only generalizing, but I definitely see  this trend existing. Of course there are usually reasonable reasons why restaurants have the ratings that they do (especially the 1 or 2 star ones), but the positive experience I had at this three star diner is just something to think about.

Anyways, that was just a little side thing that I wanted to share. I’ve been trying to write some sort of blog post for the past few days now, and have been so stuck. I think this will be my way of easing back into things. Oh, and if you ever want to check out a 24/7 diner in West LA, go to Norms. It has three stars, but it is delicious. Well, at least their apple pie, ice cream, and ice cream floats were.

 

Leave a Reply

