Promise to Myself

Recently, one of my best friends said something that stuck with me. She said that she had lost touch with her creative side and needed to find some sort of outlet to let her artistic side thrive. Her words made me realize that I, too, have lost touch with my own creative side.

I am a terrible with art. I can’t draw, I can’t do crafts. Heck, I still remember when my basketball teammates in high school made fun of me for sewing letters straight through my sweats during one of our team bonding activities where we were making personalized clothes. “You get straight A’s but you can’t sew “Poon” on some sweats?!” they said.

Despite all that, there was one type of art that somewhat made sense to me, and that art is photography.

I bought my DSLR back in high school, a very basic Canon Rebel XSI. In fact, that is the camera I still use. Well, when I say use, I mean own. That thing has been gathering dust in my room for awhile now. The last time I put that thing to use was when I studied abroad about 1.5 years ago.

I really miss photography and I have made a promise to myself that I will get back into it this year, especially since I’ll be traveling to Beijing soon. This post is so that I go through with it. I even created a Flickr account today to motivate myself (link at the bottom).

I’ll also be exploring film photography as well as videography with my GoPro so stay tuned for that as well!

https://www.flickr.com/photos/epoon

Leave a Reply

