Full Circle

Right before takeoff to New York, I logged onto Facebook to kill some time. At the top of my feed was one of there memory posts. You know what I’m talking about? Those posts that remind you of your old posts from that exact day, years ago. Today’s was crazy. As I sat on the plane excited but mostly having last minute doubts about my decision to spend the next year in Beijing, I saw the post. I saw the post from two years ago when I announced to all Facebook friends that I was just about to hop on a plane to spend the next 6 months in Asia.

Seeing that could not have come at a better time and I was suddenly overcome with a sense of calm. I began remembering how freaked out I was then, but how amazing of an experience I ended up having. I remembered how sad I felt when it was all over, and how months after my return to the US, I was still reliving my memories by continuously retelling the stories.

I had no idea what to expect when I studied abroad two years ago and today, I have absolutely no idea what to expect from my year working in Beijing. But seeing the parallels, I can’t help but be sure that this experience is going to be equally as special. I am now more excited than I am scared. I know it’s not going to be easy, especially in the beginning, but I know that it is ultimately going to be worth it. No matter what, no matter whether I become a complete loner because I can’t make friends 😂😂 or I end up not liking Beijing (which I highly doubt, but it could happen!) it’s still going to be a great time and a great learning experience because I am going to make it so.

Stay tuned for more updates (: for now, bye Cali. It’s gonna be awhile before I’m back for you. But for you East coast folks, I’ll actually be in NY / Boston for the next two weeks before Beijing, so please hit a girl up!

Leave a Reply

